Macon County Georgia

Board of Commissioners' Office
121 South Sumter Street
Oglethorpe, Georgia 31068

Board of Tax Assessors

The Macon County Board of Tax Assessors, five men and women appointed for fixed terms by the county commissioners, is responsible for determining taxability: the appraisal, assessment and the equalization of all assessments within the county.

The tax assessors notify taxpayers when changes are made to the value of the property; they receive and review all appeals filed; and they ensure that the appeal process proceeds properly. In addition, they approve all exemptions claimed by the taxpayer.

It is the duty of the county board of tax assessors to:

Property tax returns must be filed with the Macon County Board of Tax Assessors between January 1 and April 1 of each year. The taxpayer may elect not to file a property tax return if there have been no changes that would affect the value of their property from the previous year.

The deadline for filing a homestead exemption in Macon County is April 1. Application for homestead exemption is made with the Board of Tax Assessors office in the county. Failure to apply by the deadline is considered a waiver of the exemption for that year. There are no local homestead exemptions offered in this county, but the taxpayer can make application for the statewide homestead exemptions.

Chief Appraiser

The chief appraiser is appointed by the county board of tax assessors from the county appraisal staff. Under the direction of the chief appraiser, the county appraisal staff is required to: