Macon County Georgia

Board of Commissioners' Office
121 South Sumter Street
Oglethorpe, Georgia 31068

Construction Codes

What are construction codes and why do we have them

What are construction codes and local codes for Macon County?

Building codes were first seen in the United States in the early 1700's AD. A building code is a set of rules that specify the minimum acceptable level of safety for constructed objects that can range from a commercial stores to a barn.

The International Building Code (IBC) is a model building code developed by the International Code Council (ICC) that the State of Georgia uses and requires all the construction in the State to be built by it guidelines. These codes provides minimum standards to insure the public safety, health and welfare insofar as they are affected by buildings and the construction of structures.

Georgia's Uniform Codes identifies the 10 state minimum standard codes. Each of these separate codes dealing with specific areas but consist of a base code called The International Building Code In Georgia, eight of these codes are mandatory (are applicable to all construction whether or not they are locally enforced) and two are permissive ( this means that can be adopted by the local government)

These codes are as follows and the one extra code that was adopted by Macon County:

Mandatory Codes:

To properly administer and enforce the state minimum standard codes, local governments must adopt reasonable administrative provisions to enforce and monitor (inspect) the building and construction going on in its area. This was set forth in O.C.G.A. Section 8-2-26(a)(1). These powers include:

Georgia also passed a law that Contractors must to be licensed. This has been in effect for many years to provide minimum standards to ensure the public safety, health and welfare insofar as they are affected by buildings and the construction of structures.

What type of work is required to have a State Licensing Board for Residential and General Contractors? Here is an example for the State of Georgia Web Site.

Some work does not need to have a licensed contractor. Specialty trades, repair work and work costing less than $2,500 does not require the services of a state licensed contractor, but requires a Local Building permit. There is also work that a home owner can do on his own property that he does not have to be licensed, but again a permit is needed.

Macon County requires that an individual and /or contractor must apply for a permit before the construction, erection, installation, alteration, demolition, repair, relocation, replacement, addition to, use or maintenance of buildings or structures, plumbing, mechanical, gas, low voltage, electrical systems, installing Manufactured home and storage buildings.

In unincorporated Macon County, building permits are required before the work has started and an inspection if required when the work is finished.

A demolition site plan shall be submitted as part of the permit application package when demolition of any structure in the rural area of the count. The demolition site plan shall depict the trees, structures and impervious surfaces to be removed; location and size of all trees greater than six inches and best managements practices for erosion control.

If a contractor starts work before a permit is issued the Contractor can be fined at 200 percent the original permit cost. Please understand that the responsibility to get a permit is in the handed of the individual who is doing the work not just the homeowner. Any and all requirements can be located in the Macon County Building and Building Regulation.

Some situations allow an unlicensed contractor to buy a permit. If a contractor is not licensed and has pulled a permit a written form with the following information is required before the working of perform or undertaking:

The person performing the repair work discloses in writing to the owner that s such person/entity is not licensed as a residential or general contractor

The person performing repair must obtain permits and inspections as required by the local authority.

The building permit or copy, inspections card and construction plans must be kept the construction site until completion of the work. In some areas there is even a certain way a permit must be displayed like being posted within 36 to 48 inches above grade facing the street or in a window of the structure under construction in a manner where it is visible from the street. Even if it is able to be posted outside this permit needs to be in a weatherproof cover. This help in letter the owner and even individuals who pass by to know work is being done.

Macon County municipalities have their own Construction Codes. For more information contact City Hall in the community in which the permit is being sought.