Macon County Georgia

Board of Commissioners' Office
121 South Sumter Street
Oglethorpe, Georgia 31068


The Macon County School System operates three schools and is governed by the Macon County Board of Education. The local board of education is composed of five members.

Macon County Elementary School is in Oglethorpe and Macon County Middle and Macon County High School are in Montezuma.

Macon County High School’s learning environment is driven by the catchphrase, “Working Hard to be the Best, for Every Student to Graduate!” The school’s curriculum is based on and driven by state-approved courses and/or other locally established courses and federal and state accountability requirements.

Teachers are required to instruct the students toward mastery of the Georgia Performance Standards (GPS) and Common Core Georgia Performance Standards (CCGPS) in a collaborative and stimulating learning environment where by technology, performance based learning, differentiated instruction, and work-based learning opportunities are applied to help ensure that students master the content, apply that knowledge, and develop skills necessary to be highly competitive and self-sustaining in the 21st Century global economy.

Macon County High School offers Advanced Placement classes, advanced classes, Move on When Ready options, ACCEL Program, Work-based Learning opportunities, Virtual Learning, CTAE Pathway, NJROTC, Sporting options, Band, and Clubs to enrich the students’ high school experience.

Macon County High School has additional learning activities/programs for students that need additional instruction or credit recovery to show mastery of the learning objectives, such Bulldog EI, Early School, 7th Period, Independent Studies (BYU), Credit Recovery, Summer Acceleration for Math and Science (SAMS), Summer School, and after-school programs.

Macon County High School preserves a perpetual, collaborative, and supportive relationship with several post-secondary institutions, civic organizations and local businesses: Georgia Southwestern University, Fort Valley State University, South Georgia Technical College, Columbus State University, Macon State College, Darton College, Middle Georgia Technical College, Weyerhaeuser, Macon County Chamber of Commerce, Kiwanis, Mayors, County  Commissioners, and the County Recreation Department to enrich the learning opportunities for our students.

The school district is located within one hour of six universities and/or two-year colleges. These high institutions of learning are Columbus State University, Macon State College, Fort Valley State University, Georgia Southwestern State University, and South Georgia Technical College.  The district received its second district accreditation during the 2012-2013 school year. The opportunities for students and residents of the county to further their education are many.

Vist the Macon County School District website for more nformation.