Weapons Carry License
In Georgia, a license to carry authorizes a person to carry a handgun, openly or in a holster, hipgrip or similar device. If you possess a license to carry, your weapon may be concealed by your clothing, or in a handbag, purse, attache case, briefcase, other closed container, or in any location in a motor vehicle.
The license to carry, valid for five years, is obtained by application under oath to the judge of the probate court. Georgia law specifically provides that the application form "shall not require non-pertinent nor irrelevant data" from the applicant.
Applications for Georgia Weapons Carry License must be made during regular business hours, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 11 a.m. and 1-4 p.m. The process generally takes about 30 minutes, so no applications are accepted after 4:00 p.m.
No license will be issued to:
- Anyone under 21 years of age unless they meet military requirements.
- Any person who is a fugitive from justice or who has felony charges, forcible misdemeanor or weapons violations charges pending against him.
- Any person convicted of a felony who has not been pardoned by the President, the States Board of Pardons and Paroles, or any person or agency empowered to grant pardons.
- Any person convicted of forcible misdemeanor who has not been free of supervision for at least five years.
- Any person convicted of a weapons carrying violation, who has not been free of supervision for at least three years.
- Any person who has been hospitalized for in patient treatment in any mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within five years of the date of application.
- Any person who has been convicted of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug offense.
After the Probabe Judge has received the application, the applicant must go to a designated local law enforcement agency for fingerprinting.
If the applicant has been hospitalized at a mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within five years of his application for a license to carry, the judge has discretion, after considering the recommendation of the Superintendent of the hospital or treatment center, to issue or deny the license.
- Applications must be filled out in the office of Probate Court.
- You will have to go to the Sheriff’s Department to get fingerprinted to send to the FBI and GCIC. They are located at 117 Crescent Street, Oglethorpe, Ga. 31068.
- Applications must be filled out in the office of Probate Court
- You may renew your License 90 days prior or 30 days after the expiration.
- New Applicants: $78.25 (At least $48.25 has to be cash. The Sheriff's Office will only accept cash.)
- Renewal Applicants $30.00
It is unlawful to:
- Point a firearm at another person
- Discharge a firearm within 50 yards of a public highway or street
- Discharge a firearm on the property of another person without the property owner's permission
- Possess a firearm during the commission of most crimes
- While hunting, use a firearm in a manner that endangers another person
- Discharge a firearm while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Firearms may not be carried to any "public gathering," even by an individual licensed to carry a firearm.
- Public gatherings include, but are not limited to, athletic events, church functions, political rallies, all publicly owned or operated buildings and all places where alcoholic beverages are sold for consumption on the premises.
It is also unlawful to carry or possess any firearm within 1,000 feet of any school property, on a school bus or other transportation furnished by the school, or at a school function without written authorization from a school official.
This prohibition shall not apply to: organized sport shooting events, firearms training courses, persons licensed to carry when such person carries or picks up a student, any weapon legally kept in a vehicle in transit through a school zone by any person other than a student, or a firearm in a locked compartment of a motor vehicle or in a locked container or locked firearms rack in a motor vehicle being used by a person over 21 to bring or pick up a student.
The 1,000 foot zone which extends beyond the actual school property does not apply to persons who reside within the zone, are visiting someone who resides in the zone, or are conducting lawful business within the zone.