Macon County Georgia

Board of Commissioners' Office
121 South Sumter Street
Oglethorpe, Georgia 31068

River Valley Regional Commission

The River Valley Regional Commission (RVRC) supports local governments in the 16 counties and the cities within its region to plan and develop the economic opportunities and infrastructure necessary to attain and maintain the highest living standard and quality of life for residents of the region. 

Included within the River Valley Regional Commission is the Workforce Investment Act and the Area Agency on Aging.

The RVRC serves as the grant administrator/recipient on behalf of the Middle Flint Area 15 Workforce Investment Board administering the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) program. The Middle Flint WIA serves the counties of Macon, Crisp, Dooly, Marion, Schley, Sumter, Taylor and Webster. The purpose and goal of the program is to provide educational and training opportunities to eligible individuals ages 18 and up to receive knowledge and skills needed for employment, employment retention and self-sufficiency.

The River Valley Area Agency on Aging provides seniors opportunities to maintain their activity, independence, and dignity through a comprehensive, coordinated system of services and support. The AAA assesses need, advocates for seniors, engages community support, coordinates program funding, and monitors and evaluates the work of service providers to ensure that seniors receive high quality assistance.

Macon County’s Regional Council Members:

Macon County
Ambrose Richmond Felton, Commission Chair
Bruce Hill, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Oglethorpe
Tommy McKenzie, Private Industry Appointee