The Probate Court of Macon County handles traffic citations issued by the Macon County Sheriff's Department, the Georgia State Patrol, the Georgia Department of Transportation, the Public Service Commission, and the Department of Natural Resources. We do not handle tickets given in the city limits.
How to Dispose of a Traffic Citation
- NO PERSONAL CHECKS OR COMPANY CHECKS ACCEPTED UNLESS AUTHORIZED BY THE JUDGE. Money order or cashier’s check should be made payable to the Probate Court. THEY MUST BE RECEIVED BY COURT DATE SHOWN ON YOUR CITATION.
- PLEASE include a copy of the citation or give correct name, address, license number, date of birth, date of citation issued and citation number if known.
- Your driver's license will be SUSPENDED by the issuing agency in your state if you fail to pay this citation by the court date. An additional charge of $100 Failure To Appear fee, $25 Late Fee, plus the original cost will be added after the court date.
If you have received a traffic ticket in Macon County from either the Georgia State Patrol or the Sheriff’s Office, you may contest the ticket or, if a court appearance is not mandatory, you may plead guilty to the offense and pay the fine prior to the court date listed on your ticket.
To find out the amount of the fine for your violation, call the Macon County Probate Court at 478-472-7685 between 8-12 a.m. and 1-5 p.m. Monday through Friday, excluding holidays. The court accepts only certified checks or money orders by mail (no personal checks), and certified checks, money orders, cash or debit/credit card if you appear in person. If you settle by mail, we suggest you make a copy of your traffic ticket and send the copy with your payment. Traffic tickets can aslo be paid online through ezcourtpay.com or by telephone at 1-800-262-0128.
Georgia is a member of the Interstate Driver’s License Compact. If you are from a state that also participates in the Compact, your state will recognize a ticket issued to you in Georgia as if it were issued in your home state. Failing to appear before the Macon County Probate Court or to pay the traffic fine prior to your appearance date will result in your home state suspending your driver’s license until the fines are paid in Georgia.
Six states (Alaska, California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon, Wisconsin), and Canada do not participate in the Driver’s License Compact. Georgia law prohibits a law enforcement officer from issuing a driver from these states (and Canada) an appearance ticket, which means a driver will not be permitted to sign a ticket and be on their way. They will be escorted to the jail and required to post a cash bond in the amount of the traffic fine.