Macon County Georgia

Board of Commissioners' Office
121 South Sumter Street
Oglethorpe, Georgia 31068

Public Library

Macon County is served by four branches of the Middle Georgia Regional Library, one in each community in the county.

The Middle Georgia Regional Library system was created on May 1, 1949 under an act approved by the General Assembly in 1935 that authorized cooperative agreements between political subdivisions and existing municipal libraries. At its largest, the regional system contained seven counties. Baldwin County withdrew from the region in 2001.

The order in which counties joined the system is as follows: Bibb (1949-present), Twiggs (1949-present), Macon (1949-present), Jones (1951-present), Wilkinson (1954-present), Baldwin (1958-2001) and Crawford (1964-present).

Services Offered At All Middle Georgia Regional Library Branches